2011 Easter Jams


**BONUS** I’m feeling extra joyful/jittery today. So, for no extra cost, I’ll throw in my two Easter Jams as an extra post to further bask in the Easter spirit!

1) Traditional: My last Easter at Duke was nothing short of momentous! I went to 3 consecutive services to get the full range of worship: a sunrise service in Duke Gardens, 9:30am Chapel Hill Bible Church (with congregational participation in the “Halleujah” chorus), & the 11:00am Duke Chapel service in all its majesty. It was a special day for me and I remember it fondly. My traditional Easter jam is (courtesy of my good friend Ben W!) from last year’s Chapel Easter service, Christ the Lord is Risen Today and Thine Be the Glory.

2) Contemporary: My good friend Enping is a classmate from Duke IV introduced me to a song he used today from church where he helped lead extended worship for the congregation. It’s a great song with a driving chorus that calls us to remember how glorious God is! Glorious by Paul Baloche.

Worship on Humpback Rock was good! Worshiping on Easter is especially joyful.

3 responses to “2011 Easter Jams

  1. thanks for these 🙂 did you know “Christ the Lord Is Risen Today” is based off an earlier hymn? I wondered why Catholics (and others) sang the similar, but different, “Jesus Christ Is Risen Today” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christ_the_Lord_is_Risen_Today

Leave a Reply

